In Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) No 872/2012, the European Union has formally adopted a list of flavouring substances for inclusion within Annex I of Regulation (EC) No 1334/2008, the community list of flavourings and source materials approved for use in and on foods. The list contains over 2500 substances with a safe history of use. Most of these (over 2100) have been fully evaluated by the European Food Safety Authority. EFSA evaluations for the remainder are not currently complete, but most of these substances have already been deemed safe for use by other competent authorities. The list will apply from 22 April 2013, after which all other flavouring substances will be banned.

Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) No 872/2012 of 1 October 2012 adopting the list of flavouring substances provided for by Regulation (EC) No 2232/96 of the European Parliament and of the Council, introducing it in Annex I to Regulation (EC) No 1334/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council and repealing Commission Regulation (EC) No 1565/2000 and Commission Decision 1999/217/EC. Official Journal of the European Union 2012, L267, 1-161.


The above item was taken from the November 2012 issue of Toxicology and Regulatory News which is sent automatically to members of bibra (click here for more details).

News Home Guest Write For Us? Contact Us