The European Commission has recently published the fifth amendment of Annex XIV to REACH (Authorisation List), listing the following 12 new substances which now require authorisation in order to be used (after their respective sunset dates, between July 2020 and January 2021):

  • anthracene oil containing ≥ 0.005 % (w/w) benzo[a]pyrene
  • 1,2-benzenedicarboxylic acid, di-C6-8-branched alkyl esters, C7-rich
  • 1,2-benzenedicarboxylic acid, di-C7-11-branched and linear alkyl esters
  • 1,2-benzenedicarboxylic acid, dipentylester, branched and linear
  • bis(2-methoxyethyl) phthalate
  • 1-bromopropane
  • coal tar pitch
  • diisopentylphthalate
  • dipentylphthalate
  • ethoxylated branched and linear 4-nonylphenol
  • ethoxylated 4-(1,1,3,3,-tetramethylbutyl) phenol
  • N-pentyl-isopentylphthalate

European Chemicals Agency (2017). 12 new substances added to the Authorisation List. ECHA/NI/17/21.

European Commission (2017). Commission regulation (EU) 2017/999 of 13 June 2017 amending Annex XIV to Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council concerning the Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH). Official Journal of the European Union. L 150/7-13.


The above items were taken from the July 2017 issue of Toxicology and Regulatory News which is sent automatically to members of bibra.

News Home Guest Write For Us? Contact Us